Past Presidents of the TCBSBM

TCBSBM PAST PRESIDENTS, Josie Smith-Wright 2014-2016, Theodore (Ted) Beard 2012-2014, Josie Smith-Wright 2010-2012, Bobby Blount2008-2010, Tory Simmons 2006-2008
TCBSBM PAST PRESIDENTS, Ron Price 2004-2006, Lamar Walton 2002-2004, Doris Kennedy 200-2002, Luther Edwards 1998-2000, Patricia Mallard 1996-1998
TCBSBM PAST PRESIDENTS, Maxine Lane-seals 1994-1996, Patricia Mallard 1992-1994, Lenita White 1990-1992, Maxine Lane-seals 1988-1990, Dr. Yvonne Ewell 1986-1988
TCBSBM PAST PRESIDENTS, Lenita White 1984-1986, Kathyln Joy Gilliam 1982-1984, Emma Horn 1980-1982, Dr. Emmit Conrad 1978-1980
TCBSBM PAST PRESIDENTS, Lenita White 1984-1986, Kathyln Joy Gilliam 1982-1984, Emma Horn 1980-1982, Dr. Emmit Conrad 1978-1980

In Memorial of Kenneth & Sharon Sternes

Sharon was a School Board President in the DeSoto Board of Education and an advocate for public education having served on the DeSoto Board of Education since May 2002. Her Husband Kenneth Kenneth Ray Sternes passed away on August 29, 2009. Sharon presented the Texas Caucus of Black School Board Members with a $2,000 education scholarship in memory of her husband after he passed. Sharon passed away on Friday, Jan. 7 after a lengthy battle with cancer.


She leaves two sons Rainey Alan Sternes and Ryan Jewel Sternes.


Edd White Retiring After 22 Years of Service


"I believe that a well‐funded public educational system is essential if the United States is to remain a free society and maintain its leadership role in the world. We must educate all of our children regardless of their status in life. This requires a belief that all children can learn and a willingness to provide the necessary resources to educate them. I'm willing to pay my fair share to have a free public education accessible to all of our children, so that's one of the reasons I serve voluntarily on the school board."


Edd White was elected to the North East Independent School District Board of Trustees in 1996 and was re‐elected to his fifth term in 2014. He has served as Vice President and President of the Board. Edd represented the District on the Texas State Association for School Boards (TASB) from 2000 to 2010. At TASB he served on the Bylaws, Nominations, Legislative and Budget Committees and was Chairman of the Resolution Committee. He has served on several state and national panels and task forces on educational issues during his years of service as a trustee.


Edd graduated from Dunbar High School in Livingston, Texas and received his bachelor's and master's degrees from Prairie View A & M University. In 2013 he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Divinity degree by the San Antonio Theological College.


After graduating from college Edd served three years in the United States Army. Upon his discharge from the Army he began a teaching career at Eason's Institute of Technology where he taught Automotive Technology for eight years. His next employment was with the Texas Rehabilitation Commission as a Rehabilitation Counselor. During this employment he was very active in the rehabilitation professional organizations. He served as President of the Texas Public Employment Association, President of the San Antonio Area Rehabilitation Association, President of the Texas Rehabilitation Association and the five state Southwest Regional Rehabilitation Association. Edd retired after twenty‐five years of employment with the Texas Rehabilitation Commission.


Edd is active in his church where he serves as a Deacon and Sunday School Superintendent. He and his wife Hattie have three sons who are successful North East and college graduates.


Tyler ISD Reflects on the Passing of former Principal, Trustee Therelee Washington


Tyler ISD is saddened to learn of the passing of former educator and longtime trustee, Therelee Washington. Mr. Washington’s educational career in Tyler ISD spanned more than 23 years, followed by 19 years of service on the Tyler ISD Board of Trustees.


“Our community has lost a leader and friend in Therelee Washington,” Tyler ISD Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford said. “His heart for student success as an educator, board member, and community member impacted the lives of many and he will be greatly missed.”


Mr. Washington joined the Tyler ISD family in 1971 as a math teacher at Douglas Elementary School. After teaching there for six years, he moved into administrative roles serving as principal at Bonner Elementary School for six years and W.A. Peete Elementary School for 11 years. He retired from Tyler ISD in 1994 and served on the Tyler ISD Board of Trustees until 2013.


“I had the pleasure of working with Therelee for many years as a school board member,” Tyler ISD Trustee Andy Bergfeld said. “He was a true servant to his community, but more than that he was a genuine friend. His legacy will carry on in the many students and adults he had an influence on, including me. Our prayers are with Jean and the entire Washington family.”


During his tenure as a Trustee, the Tyler ISD Board was named the 2005 Region VII Board of the Year for its many accomplishments that included passing a $96 million bond to improve and build new elementary campuses, increasing the District’s emphasis on fiscal responsibility, and implementing performance indicators to gauge progress in testing scores, attendance, and completion rates among other areas.


“My heart is saddened today,” former Tyler ISD Trustee Rev. Orenthia Mason said. “It was my joy to sit beside Therelee at the Board of Trustees dais, and I am so happy he was able to see a dream of his come true in the Tyler ISD Career and Technology Center. Our Board of Trustees was a wonderful team and Therelee kept us all laughing during challenging times and focused on academic excellence. His tenure speaks well for itself. Well done, my friend.”